×    By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

College of Law Announces 2020 Law Honors Awards Recipients

Posted on Tuesday 6/23/2020
College of Law

At its Law Alumni Weekend 2020—happening online from September 24 to 26—the Syracuse University Law Alumni Association and Syracuse University College of Law will celebrate the achievements of five alumni and one emeritus professor. This year's recipients have distinguished themselves for their service to the College, their communities, and the practice of law.

Congratulations to the honorees:

  • Professor Emeritus William C. Banks, for his service to the College of Law, where he has served as a Distinguished and Emeritus Professor and Interim Dean; Founding Director of the Syracuse University Institute for Security Policy and Law (formerly the Institute for National Security and Counterterrorism); and for his scholarship and leadership in the fields of constitutional law, national security, and counterterrorism law.
  • Everett A. Gillison L’85, for his lifetime commitment to public service, including as a member of the Defender Association of Philadelphia, Deputy Mayor of Public Safety for the City of Philadelphia, Chief of Staff to Philadelphia Mayor Michael Nutter, and as a member of the Pennsylvania Probation and Parole Board and Pennsylvania State Ethics Board.
  • Virginia L. Grady L’83, for her commitment to advocacy on behalf of indigent defendants, highlighted by her continuing service as the Federal Public Defender for the Districts of Colorado and Wyoming, and her leadership in advancing the legal profession in training lawyers in federal criminal practice and procedure and in seeking to improve the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure.
  • Professor Emeritus Thomas J. Maroney L’63, for his 44 years as a faculty member of the College of Law; his public service as United States Attorney for the Northern District of New York and as Assistant Attorney General; his commitment to alternative dispute resolution as a respected labor arbitrator; and his dedication to his community as a past chair of the CNY Chapter of the New York Civil Liberties Union and as a long-time volunteer fire police officer.
  • M. Catherine Richardson L’77, for her dedication to the practice of law and to her community, where she spent her entire legal career specializing in corporate healthcare law and operations, and for her commitment to the legal profession and efforts to advance leadership opportunities for women, including serving as the first woman President of the Onondaga County Bar Association and second woman President of the New York State Bar Association.
  • Koert A. Wehberg L’08, for his dedication to proactive, policy- and community-driven systemic change for people with disabilities, ensuring access for all people by litigating against governmental agencies to ensure those rights, and most recently by being named Executive Director of the Philadelphia Mayor’s Commission on People with Disabilities.

Read the recipients' full biographies at this webpage. To learn more about all 2020 Law Alumni Weekend programs and to register, follow this link.