Dana Leccese Babbin L'96
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Foursquare

Dana Leccese Babbin L'96

Dana BabbinDANA (LECCESE) BABBIN graduated from the University of Notre Dame in 1992 and earned her Juris Doctor from Syracuse University College of Law in 1996.  As a law student, she took the Grant Opportunity (GO) Program (now the Syracuse Public Interest Network) to a higher level by creating an annual auction and by conducting other fundraising events, thereby tripling the number of grant opportunities available to students who were volunteering their services in the public interest during summer internships.

Ms. Babbin has been a prosecutor for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts since 1999.  She began her career as an Assistant District Attorney for the Suffolk County District Attorney's Office, where she primarily worked in the Boston Municipal Court, the Roxbury District Court, and as a Domestic Violence Point Prosecutor.  Subsequently, Ms. Babbin taught the Prosecutor Program at Boston University Law School, where she supervised student prosecutors in the Quincy District Court.  Between 2003 and 2007, she served in the Office of the Massachusetts Attorney General, as the Internet Crimes Against Children Prosecutor, handling not only the prosecution of child pornography cases, but conducting extensive outreach and training, both on a local and national level, for state and federal law enforcement organizations.

Since August 2007, Ms. Babbin has spearheaded the establishment of a first-ever cybercrime division at the Middlesex County District Attorney's Office.  As the Coordinator of the office's Cyber Protection Program, she provides assistance to lawyers and police officers who are handling cases involving cyber issues; she also continues to prosecute complex "cyber" cases herself.  Along with a detective from the Massachusetts State Police, Ms. Babbin supervises the District Attorney's Cyber Enforcement Unit, where experts analyze seized digital evidence.  

In addition, she serves the community with her outreach efforts, spending considerable time working with schools that are increasingly faced with problems stemming from the intersection of crime and technology (such as cyberbullying), hoping to divert young people away from the criminal justice system who might otherwise be at risk. Finally, Ms. Babbin travels both state- and nationwide as a guest speaker for government, legal, and pedagogical organizations, focusing primarily on the education of police, school personnel, and professionals who are concerned with the many facets of digital evidence and cyber safety.

Outside of work, Ms. Babbin proudly serves as a member of the Board of Directors of Catholic Memorial High School in West Roxbury, Massachusetts.  Most importantly, she relishes any pastime that involves her husband, a Massachusetts State Police detective, her infant twin girls and her 10-year-old step-daughter, especially summertime boating and winter skiing.

Relevant Links:

Middlesex County District Attorney
Suffolk County District Attorney
Massachusetts Attorney General

Alumni Spotlights


Frank Carbonetti L'99
Angela R. Cruz L'06
Aris Evia L'99
David J. Efron L'93
Catherine Gale L'78
Scott W. Hackwelder L'04
Kristoffer (Kris) Kiefer L'05
Mary C. King L'04
John J. Leo III L'03
Cheryl Pinarchick L'95
Kate M. Powers L'02
Kevin Saunders L'97
Janine A. Scott L'97
William Tansey L'03
Charles Taylor L'96


David W. Baker L'05
Jae H. Cho L'04
Lisa A. Coppola L'89
Danette Edwards L'02
Noah J. Garber L'08
Roy S. Gutterman L'00
Adam J. Katz L'04
Richard E. Mitchell L'95
Julie Morse L'05
Frederick J.M. Price L'03
Kelli Provenzano Cain L'06
David M. Tang L'05
Michael P. Votto L'03
Krista Witanowski L'02


Michael Anthony Bottar L'03
James T. Dehn L'98
Maya M. Eckstein L.95
Seth Eichenholtz L'02
Susan R. Horn L'74
Cynthia Kearley L'01
Michael T. Maroney L'00
Carey Ng L'02


Dana Leccese Babbin L'96
Henry J. Ford, Jr. L'02
Zabrina Jenkins L'00
Stephanie Jones L'03
Barker C. Keith L'97
Tiffany H. Lee L'97
Joshua N. Lief L'88
Timothy M. Meehan L'96
Timothy Paul L'84
Gerard 'Rod' Saggese III L'99
MaryTeresa Soltis L'03
Ruchi Thaker L'02
Nathan Wheatley L'02


Stewart D. Aaron L'83
Robert J. Anello L'80
Eddie Baba L'03
Adam Leitman Bailey L'95
Scott Charney L'88
Alan Crain L'76
Andrew Dember L'79
Eric Eichenholtz '02
Virginia Grady L'83
Hon. William Q. Hayes L'83
Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82
Jaye B. Martin L'79
George R. McGuire L'96
Benita Miller L'96
Eileen Millett L'74
Matthew Moore L'95
Michael Riley L'03
John W. Ryan L'85
Howard Siegel L'70
Katie Strangis L'03
Ellen Zimiles L'83