Andrew S. Dember L'79
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Foursquare

Andrew S. Dember L'79

Andrew DemberANDREW S. DEMBER graduated from the Syracuse University College of Law in 1979. While at the law school, he was a member of the Moot Court Board. He is a 1976 graduate of Lehigh University, where he earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Business and Economics and graduated with High Honors.

Immediately following law school, Mr. Dember completed a two-year term as law clerk to the Honorable Ruth Moskowitz, Justice of the New York State Supreme Court in Brooklyn. For nine years, Mr. Dember served as an Assistant District Attorney in the Kings County District Attorney’s Office in Brooklyn. During the final three years of that tenure, he held the position of Supervising Assistant District Attorney in the Homicide Bureau where he supervised 20 trial attorneys and on-going investigations; provided guidance on legal issues and trial strategies; and prosecuted high profile and complex homicide cases.

Since 1991 he has been an Assistant United States Attorney (AUSA) in the United States Attorney’s Office for the Southern District of New York, and currently holds the position of Deputy Chief of the Criminal Division. In this position, Mr. Dember supervises the Division on legal, investigative, and trial matters; reviews and approves charges for cases involving, among other things, public corruption, organized crime/RICO, and terrorism. Mr. Dember also actively participates in the training of new attorneys, lecturing on trial practice, the Federal Rules of Evidence, grand jury practice, and investigations. Prior to his current position, Mr. Dember served as Chief of the Public Corruption Unit, where he supervised senior AUSAs assigned to that unit and led major investigations and prosecutions involving complex political, government, and police corruption, criminal civil rights violations, and government fraud.

As both a state and federal prosecutor in New York City for the past twenty-seven years, Mr. Dember has conducted more than 75 jury trials and argued more than a dozen cases on appeal. He has been the recipient of several U.S. Department of Justice awards for a number of the major cases he has prosecuted. Most recently, in 2005, he received the Department’s highest award for employee performance – the Attorney General’s Award for Exceptional Service – for the case of US v. Ahmed Abdel Sattar, Lynne Stewart, and Mohammed Yousry, for the successful prosecution of Sattar for his role in an international conspiracy, and attorney Stewart and Yousry for their provision of material support and resources in furtherance of that conspiracy. In 2001, Mr. Dember received the John Marshall Award for Outstanding Legal Achievement for Participation in Litigation for the successful RICO prosecution of a notorious and violent narcotics organization based in Manhattan and the Bronx. In 1999, he was awarded the Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service for the case of US v. Francis Livoti, a successful criminal civil rights prosecution of a highly publicized police brutality case. In 1995, Mr. Dember was awarded the Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service for the successful investigation and prosecution of the complex and pervasive police corruption scandals in the New York City Police Department’s 30th Precinct, involving bands of rogue police officers who were involved in corrupt dealings with local drug dealers, including narcotics trafficking, extortion, and theft.

Related Links:

US Department of Justice
The US Attorney’s Office, Southern District of New York
Kings County District Attorney

Alumni Spotlights


Frank Carbonetti L'99
Angela R. Cruz L'06
Aris Evia L'99
David J. Efron L'93
Catherine Gale L'78
Scott W. Hackwelder L'04
Kristoffer (Kris) Kiefer L'05
Mary C. King L'04
John J. Leo III L'03
Cheryl Pinarchick L'95
Kate M. Powers L'02
Kevin Saunders L'97
Janine A. Scott L'97
William Tansey L'03
Charles Taylor L'96


David W. Baker L'05
Jae H. Cho L'04
Lisa A. Coppola L'89
Danette Edwards L'02
Noah J. Garber L'08
Roy S. Gutterman L'00
Adam J. Katz L'04
Richard E. Mitchell L'95
Julie Morse L'05
Frederick J.M. Price L'03
Kelli Provenzano Cain L'06
David M. Tang L'05
Michael P. Votto L'03
Krista Witanowski L'02


Michael Anthony Bottar L'03
James T. Dehn L'98
Maya M. Eckstein L.95
Seth Eichenholtz L'02
Susan R. Horn L'74
Cynthia Kearley L'01
Michael T. Maroney L'00
Carey Ng L'02


Dana Leccese Babbin L'96
Henry J. Ford, Jr. L'02
Zabrina Jenkins L'00
Stephanie Jones L'03
Barker C. Keith L'97
Tiffany H. Lee L'97
Joshua N. Lief L'88
Timothy M. Meehan L'96
Timothy Paul L'84
Gerard 'Rod' Saggese III L'99
MaryTeresa Soltis L'03
Ruchi Thaker L'02
Nathan Wheatley L'02


Stewart D. Aaron L'83
Robert J. Anello L'80
Eddie Baba L'03
Adam Leitman Bailey L'95
Scott Charney L'88
Alan Crain L'76
Andrew Dember L'79
Eric Eichenholtz '02
Virginia Grady L'83
Hon. William Q. Hayes L'83
Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82
Jaye B. Martin L'79
George R. McGuire L'96
Benita Miller L'96
Eileen Millett L'74
Matthew Moore L'95
Michael Riley L'03
John W. Ryan L'85
Howard Siegel L'70
Katie Strangis L'03
Ellen Zimiles L'83