Eileen D. Millett L'74
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Foursquare

Eileen D. Millett L'74

Eileen MillettEILEEN D. MILLETT received her Bachelor of Arts degree in Latin American studies from Syracuse University and then continued on to receive her Juris Doctor from the Syracuse University College of Law, where she was a member of the Jessup Moot Court Team.

Ms. Millett is currently a Visiting Professor of Law at the Syracuse University College of Law, where she teaches classes on Regulatory Law & Policy and Environmental Law, and also Counsel in the New York City office of Epstein Becker & Green, P.C. Immediately prior to rejoining the College of Law community, Ms. Millett was a partner in the Real Property Environmental Group of the New York City office of Gibbons P.C. Her practice involved counseling industry and municipalities on the regulatory and permitting aspects of real estate transactions and development, and she has litigated cases in federal and state court involving solid and hazardous waste and the Clean Water Act. Prior to joining Gibbons, Ms. Millett was General Counsel to the Interstate Environmental Commission, a tri-state water quality enforcement authority, where she managed and conducted litigation to control and abate water pollution. She began her professional career with the Queens County District Attorney’s Office.

In 2009, along with other environmental advocates and distinguished professors from Syracuse University College of Law and Columbia University Law School, Ms. Millett served on the New York State Bar Association’s Task Force on Climate Change, identifying the legal and policy issues connected to emerging regulations surrounding climate and carbon trading markets. The report recommended legislation around the mandatory regulation of greenhouse emissions for New York lawyers and their clients, what shape it should take as well as what industries would be helped and most hurt. Last year, Ms. Millett was one of eleven individuals appointed by Governor David Paterson to the Sustainable and Green Procurement Advisory Council, charged with quantifying measures, setting procurement targets and advising state agencies and public benefit corporations on the planning, acquisition, use and disposal of products purchased using green procurement action plans. She has chaired numerous legal education programs and is widely published. In July of 2009 Ms. Millett was the primary author of a New York Law Journal article entitled “Passive Buildings,” which details the latest entrant into the green building movement.

Ms. Millett has held senior positions in the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation. She is currently a member of the Executive Committee of the Environmental Law Institute (ELI), and also the New York State Bar Association (and is the first woman of color to achieve such a distinction in that Association’s 133-year history). Ms. Millett is a frequent speaker and lecturer.

Related Links:

Epstein Becker & Green, P.C.
Environmental Law Institute
Gibbons, PC
Interstate Environmental Commission
New York Law Journal article, “Passive Buildings”

Alumni Spotlights


Frank Carbonetti L'99
Angela R. Cruz L'06
Aris Evia L'99
David J. Efron L'93
Catherine Gale L'78
Scott W. Hackwelder L'04
Kristoffer (Kris) Kiefer L'05
Mary C. King L'04
John J. Leo III L'03
Cheryl Pinarchick L'95
Kate M. Powers L'02
Kevin Saunders L'97
Janine A. Scott L'97
William Tansey L'03
Charles Taylor L'96


David W. Baker L'05
Jae H. Cho L'04
Lisa A. Coppola L'89
Danette Edwards L'02
Noah J. Garber L'08
Roy S. Gutterman L'00
Adam J. Katz L'04
Richard E. Mitchell L'95
Julie Morse L'05
Frederick J.M. Price L'03
Kelli Provenzano Cain L'06
David M. Tang L'05
Michael P. Votto L'03
Krista Witanowski L'02


Michael Anthony Bottar L'03
James T. Dehn L'98
Maya M. Eckstein L.95
Seth Eichenholtz L'02
Susan R. Horn L'74
Cynthia Kearley L'01
Michael T. Maroney L'00
Carey Ng L'02


Dana Leccese Babbin L'96
Henry J. Ford, Jr. L'02
Zabrina Jenkins L'00
Stephanie Jones L'03
Barker C. Keith L'97
Tiffany H. Lee L'97
Joshua N. Lief L'88
Timothy M. Meehan L'96
Timothy Paul L'84
Gerard 'Rod' Saggese III L'99
MaryTeresa Soltis L'03
Ruchi Thaker L'02
Nathan Wheatley L'02


Stewart D. Aaron L'83
Robert J. Anello L'80
Eddie Baba L'03
Adam Leitman Bailey L'95
Scott Charney L'88
Alan Crain L'76
Andrew Dember L'79
Eric Eichenholtz '02
Virginia Grady L'83
Hon. William Q. Hayes L'83
Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82
Jaye B. Martin L'79
George R. McGuire L'96
Benita Miller L'96
Eileen Millett L'74
Matthew Moore L'95
Michael Riley L'03
John W. Ryan L'85
Howard Siegel L'70
Katie Strangis L'03
Ellen Zimiles L'83