Scott Charney L'88
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Foursquare

Scott Charney L'88

Scott CharneySCOTT CHARNEY received dual Bachelor of Arts degrees in History and English from the State University of New York, Binghamton University. He graduated with honors from Syracuse University College of Law in 1980.

Mr. Charney currently serves as Microsoft's Corporate Vice President for Trustworthy Computing (TwC), Engineering Excellence (EE) and Environmental Sustainability (ES). Trustworthy Computing is Microsoft's effort to help ensure a secure, private and reliable experience for computer users. As part of this effort, the TwC team works with business groups throughout the company to ensure their products and services adhere to Microsoft's security and privacy policies, and also engages with governments, industry partners, and computer users on important security and privacy issues such as critical infrastructure protection, software assurance, and identity management. Engineering Excellence is responsible for supporting Microsoft's engineering community by providing Microsoft engineers with learning and development opportunities, as well as by discovering and propagating engineering best practices across the company and into the IT ecosystem. Finally, Environmental Sustainability focuses on using the power of software to help reduce mankind's impact on the environment, as well as managing Microsoft's own environmental footprint.

Before joining Microsoft in 2002, Mr. Charney was a principal for the professional services organization PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC). There, he led the firm's Cybercrime Prevention and Response Practice, providing computer security services to Fortune 500 companies and smaller enterprises. Prior to joining PwC, Mr. Charney served as Chief of the Computer Crime and Intellectual Property Section (CCIPS) in the Criminal Division of the U.S. Department of Justice. From 1991 to 1999 he was the leading federal prosecutor for computer crimes and helped to prosecute major hacker cases; he also co-authored documents such as the Federal Guidelines for Searching and Seizing Computers, the National Information Infrastructure Protection Act of 1996 and the federal computer crime sentencing guidelines. Mr. Charney also chaired the Group of Eight (G8) Subgroup on High-Tech Crime, and was a member of the Clinton Administration's Information Infrastructure Task Force.

Mr. Charney began his professional career as an Assistant District Attorney in Bronx County, New York, and ultimately served as Deputy Chief of the Investigations Bureau. In addition to supervising 23 prosecutors, he developed a computer-tracking system that was later used throughout New York City to aid in the tracking of criminal cases.

Mr. Charney has received numerous professional awards, including the John Marshall Award for Outstanding Legal Achievement in 1995 and the Attorney General's Award for Distinguished Service in 1998. He was elected to the Information Systems Security Association Hall of Fame in 1999. Among his other affiliations, Mr. Charney served on the American Bar Association Task Force on Electronic Surveillance, the Software Engineering Institute Advisory Board at Carnegie-Mellon University and the Defense Science Board Task Force on Mission Impact of Foreign Influence on DoD Software. He currently co-chairs the Center for Strategic & International Studies (CSIS) Commission on Cybersecurity.

Mr. Charney has testified numerous times before Congress. Recent testimony before the House Committee on Homeland Security (Sub-committee on Emerging Threats, Cybersecurity, and Science and Technology) addressed the steps that the federal government must take to secure America's cyber future.

Relevant Links:

Trustworthy Computing
Microsoft Environment
Testimony before the U.S. House Committee on Homeland Security
CSIS Cybersecurity Commission
U.S. Department of Justice, Computer Crime & Intellectual Property Section
Bronx County District Attorney

Alumni Spotlights


Frank Carbonetti L'99
Angela R. Cruz L'06
Aris Evia L'99
David J. Efron L'93
Catherine Gale L'78
Scott W. Hackwelder L'04
Kristoffer (Kris) Kiefer L'05
Mary C. King L'04
John J. Leo III L'03
Cheryl Pinarchick L'95
Kate M. Powers L'02
Kevin Saunders L'97
Janine A. Scott L'97
William Tansey L'03
Charles Taylor L'96


David W. Baker L'05
Jae H. Cho L'04
Lisa A. Coppola L'89
Danette Edwards L'02
Noah J. Garber L'08
Roy S. Gutterman L'00
Adam J. Katz L'04
Richard E. Mitchell L'95
Julie Morse L'05
Frederick J.M. Price L'03
Kelli Provenzano Cain L'06
David M. Tang L'05
Michael P. Votto L'03
Krista Witanowski L'02


Michael Anthony Bottar L'03
James T. Dehn L'98
Maya M. Eckstein L.95
Seth Eichenholtz L'02
Susan R. Horn L'74
Cynthia Kearley L'01
Michael T. Maroney L'00
Carey Ng L'02


Dana Leccese Babbin L'96
Henry J. Ford, Jr. L'02
Zabrina Jenkins L'00
Stephanie Jones L'03
Barker C. Keith L'97
Tiffany H. Lee L'97
Joshua N. Lief L'88
Timothy M. Meehan L'96
Timothy Paul L'84
Gerard 'Rod' Saggese III L'99
MaryTeresa Soltis L'03
Ruchi Thaker L'02
Nathan Wheatley L'02


Stewart D. Aaron L'83
Robert J. Anello L'80
Eddie Baba L'03
Adam Leitman Bailey L'95
Scott Charney L'88
Alan Crain L'76
Andrew Dember L'79
Eric Eichenholtz '02
Virginia Grady L'83
Hon. William Q. Hayes L'83
Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82
Jaye B. Martin L'79
George R. McGuire L'96
Benita Miller L'96
Eileen Millett L'74
Matthew Moore L'95
Michael Riley L'03
John W. Ryan L'85
Howard Siegel L'70
Katie Strangis L'03
Ellen Zimiles L'83