Scott W. Hackwelder L'04
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Foursquare

Scott W. Hackwelder L'04

Scott W. Hackwelder

Scott W. Hackwelder graduated magna cum laude in 2004 from Syracuse University College of Law, where he served as editor-in-chief of the Syracuse Law Review. He also served as a teaching assistant for first year students at the College of Law and participated in the Law, Technology, and Management program. Prior to law school, Scott graduated with engineering degrees from Duke University and Villanova University, and he practiced as a consulting engineer for nine years.      

Scott serves as corporate counsel for Cummins Inc., a global power leader in designing, manufacturing, selling, and servicing engines and related technologies, including fuel systems, emission solutions and electrical power generation systems. In his current business counsel role, Scott advises on matters relating to Cummins’ power generation business unit. Scott initially joined Cummins in 2010 as a patent attorney focused on intellectual property matters. Prior to joining Cummins, Scott worked on technology transactions at the Jones Day law firm in Cleveland, OH.  

In addition to publishing his note in the Syracuse Law Review, Scott has been published in the American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA) Quarterly Journal and IDEA: The IP Law Review. A Syracuse native, Scott and his young family return often to visit.

Relevant Links:

AIPLA Quarterly Journal
IDEA: The IP Law Review

Alumni Spotlights


Frank Carbonetti L'99
Angela R. Cruz L'06
Aris Evia L'99
David J. Efron L'93
Catherine Gale L'78
Scott W. Hackwelder L'04
Kristoffer (Kris) Kiefer L'05
Mary C. King L'04
John J. Leo III L'03
Cheryl Pinarchick L'95
Kate M. Powers L'02
Kevin Saunders L'97
Janine A. Scott L'97
William Tansey L'03
Charles Taylor L'96


David W. Baker L'05
Jae H. Cho L'04
Lisa A. Coppola L'89
Danette Edwards L'02
Noah J. Garber L'08
Roy S. Gutterman L'00
Adam J. Katz L'04
Richard E. Mitchell L'95
Julie Morse L'05
Frederick J.M. Price L'03
Kelli Provenzano Cain L'06
David M. Tang L'05
Michael P. Votto L'03
Krista Witanowski L'02


Michael Anthony Bottar L'03
James T. Dehn L'98
Maya M. Eckstein L.95
Seth Eichenholtz L'02
Susan R. Horn L'74
Cynthia Kearley L'01
Michael T. Maroney L'00
Carey Ng L'02


Dana Leccese Babbin L'96
Henry J. Ford, Jr. L'02
Zabrina Jenkins L'00
Stephanie Jones L'03
Barker C. Keith L'97
Tiffany H. Lee L'97
Joshua N. Lief L'88
Timothy M. Meehan L'96
Timothy Paul L'84
Gerard 'Rod' Saggese III L'99
MaryTeresa Soltis L'03
Ruchi Thaker L'02
Nathan Wheatley L'02


Stewart D. Aaron L'83
Robert J. Anello L'80
Eddie Baba L'03
Adam Leitman Bailey L'95
Scott Charney L'88
Alan Crain L'76
Andrew Dember L'79
Eric Eichenholtz '02
Virginia Grady L'83
Hon. William Q. Hayes L'83
Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82
Jaye B. Martin L'79
George R. McGuire L'96
Benita Miller L'96
Eileen Millett L'74
Matthew Moore L'95
Michael Riley L'03
John W. Ryan L'85
Howard Siegel L'70
Katie Strangis L'03
Ellen Zimiles L'83