Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Foursquare

Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82

Deborah KaralunasDeborah H. Karalunas obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree from Cornell University in 1978 and graduated cum laude from Syracuse University College of Law in 1982. At the College of Law, Karalunas was a research assistant and a teaching assistant. She also was a member of the Journal of International Law & Commerce, the Moot Court Honor Society and the Justinian Honor Society. 

Following law school, Karalunas clerked for United States District Court Judge Howard G. Munson in the Northern District of New York. In 1983, Karalunas joined the law firm of Bond, Schoeneck & King in Syracuse, New York where she later became a partner. During her 20 years in the litigation department of that firm, Ms. Karalunas represented a variety of corporate, municipal and individual clients in the state and federal courts of New York and other states. Her practice included intellectual property, commercial, employment, antitrust, ERISA, environmental and personal injury litigation. 

In 2002 Karalunas was elected to serve as a Supreme Court Justice in the 5th Judicial District. She presides over a variety of civil cases including personal injury, commercial, intellectual property, constitutional and environmental. In 2007 Karalunas was appointed presiding justice of Supreme Court, Commercial Division, Onondaga County.

Justice Karalunas has been an active member of various bar associations. In addition to serving as chair of several committees and sections, she served on the Board of Directors of the Onondaga County Bar Association and the Central New York Women’s Bar Association. Justice Karalunas also was the President of the Central New York Women’s Bar Association. She currently serves as Secretary of the Judicial Section of the New York State Bar Association.

Karalunas lectures frequently for state and local bar associations on many substantive law and trial practice topics. She also is a regular guest speaker, lecturer and moot court judge at Syracuse University College of Law. 

Justice Karalunas also participates in community service work. She currently serves as the Youth Group Leader for the Onondaga Valley and South Presbyterian Churches. In this role she mentors junior and senior high school students from the Syracuse area and participates in various mission projects including building rehabilitation for the poor and elderly, and working with various organizations to end racism, homelessness, hunger and disease.

Justice Karalunas and George, her husband of 30 years, have three children: Sarah (27), Evan (24) and Brian (20).

Related Links:

Commercial Division, New York State Supreme Court
Bond Schoeneck & King PLLC
New York State Bar Association, Judicial Section
Onondaga County Bar Association
Central New York Women’s Bar Association

Alumni Spotlights


Frank Carbonetti L'99
Angela R. Cruz L'06
Aris Evia L'99
David J. Efron L'93
Catherine Gale L'78
Scott W. Hackwelder L'04
Kristoffer (Kris) Kiefer L'05
Mary C. King L'04
John J. Leo III L'03
Cheryl Pinarchick L'95
Kate M. Powers L'02
Kevin Saunders L'97
Janine A. Scott L'97
William Tansey L'03
Charles Taylor L'96


David W. Baker L'05
Jae H. Cho L'04
Lisa A. Coppola L'89
Danette Edwards L'02
Noah J. Garber L'08
Roy S. Gutterman L'00
Adam J. Katz L'04
Richard E. Mitchell L'95
Julie Morse L'05
Frederick J.M. Price L'03
Kelli Provenzano Cain L'06
David M. Tang L'05
Michael P. Votto L'03
Krista Witanowski L'02


Michael Anthony Bottar L'03
James T. Dehn L'98
Maya M. Eckstein L.95
Seth Eichenholtz L'02
Susan R. Horn L'74
Cynthia Kearley L'01
Michael T. Maroney L'00
Carey Ng L'02


Dana Leccese Babbin L'96
Henry J. Ford, Jr. L'02
Zabrina Jenkins L'00
Stephanie Jones L'03
Barker C. Keith L'97
Tiffany H. Lee L'97
Joshua N. Lief L'88
Timothy M. Meehan L'96
Timothy Paul L'84
Gerard 'Rod' Saggese III L'99
MaryTeresa Soltis L'03
Ruchi Thaker L'02
Nathan Wheatley L'02


Stewart D. Aaron L'83
Robert J. Anello L'80
Eddie Baba L'03
Adam Leitman Bailey L'95
Scott Charney L'88
Alan Crain L'76
Andrew Dember L'79
Eric Eichenholtz '02
Virginia Grady L'83
Hon. William Q. Hayes L'83
Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82
Jaye B. Martin L'79
George R. McGuire L'96
Benita Miller L'96
Eileen Millett L'74
Matthew Moore L'95
Michael Riley L'03
John W. Ryan L'85
Howard Siegel L'70
Katie Strangis L'03
Ellen Zimiles L'83