Howard Siegel L'70
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Foursquare

Howard Siegel L'70

Howard SiegelHOWARD SIEGEL is a 1970 graduate summa cum laude of Syracuse University College of Law where he was Order of the Coif, Editor-in-Chief of the Syracuse Law Review and a member of the Moot Court Board. Upon his graduation, Mr. Siegel served in a judicial clerkship for the New York State Court of Appeals from 1970-1972. 

Mr. Siegel is senior partner in Pryor Cashman LLP’s Entertainment Group in New York City. He has represented clients in all aspects of the entertainment business for more than 35 years, with a particular emphasis on the music industry. He has served as counsel to many of the industry’s most prominent recording artists, songwriters, producers, managers, and executives. 

For the past three years, Mr. Siegel has been selected as one of New York's "Super Lawyers" published by Law and Politics, a distinction limited to the top 5% of all attorneys in the New York metropolitan area. In 2007 and 2008 he was recognized as one of the entertainment industry's “Top 100 Power Lawyers" as complied and published by the Hollywood Reporter. Mr. Siegel is the former Chair of the Section on Entertainment, Arts and Sports Law of the New York State Bar Association, former Chair of the New York State Bar Association’s Committee on the Music and Recording Industry, and an Associate Member of the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences. He is Editor-in-Chief of the nationally distributed book, Entertainment Law and is co-chair of the Practicing Law Institute's national annual program on entertainment law.

Mr. Siegel writes extensively in the areas of copyright and music industry developments, he lectures frequently on topics germane to his practice and has been an Adjunct Professor of Law at Fordham University School of Law for over 15 years. In October, Mr. Siegel will be introducing his client Steven Van Zandt as the keynote speaker for the American Bar Association’s annual Entertainment Law Forum in New York City. Also in October, Siegel is chairing the New York State Bar Association Entertainment, Arts and Sports Law Section’s panel on Ethics in Entertainment Law.

Mr. Siegel is an avid Harley-Davidson rider, and has logged hundreds of thousands of miles during his 30 years on the road, often writing articles about his travels which have been published in various motorcycle magazines. He also holds an “Extra Class” Amateur Radio license and has communicated by short wave radio with thousands of other “ham” radio

Related Links:

Commercial Division, New York State Supreme Court
The Hollywood Reporter, “Power Lawyers 2007 - Talent
ABA Forum on the Entertainment and Sports Industries
New York State Bar Association: Entertainment, Arts and Sports Law Section
Practicing Law Institute
Harley-Davidson USA
American Radio Relay League

Alumni Spotlights


Frank Carbonetti L'99
Angela R. Cruz L'06
Aris Evia L'99
David J. Efron L'93
Catherine Gale L'78
Scott W. Hackwelder L'04
Kristoffer (Kris) Kiefer L'05
Mary C. King L'04
John J. Leo III L'03
Cheryl Pinarchick L'95
Kate M. Powers L'02
Kevin Saunders L'97
Janine A. Scott L'97
William Tansey L'03
Charles Taylor L'96


David W. Baker L'05
Jae H. Cho L'04
Lisa A. Coppola L'89
Danette Edwards L'02
Noah J. Garber L'08
Roy S. Gutterman L'00
Adam J. Katz L'04
Richard E. Mitchell L'95
Julie Morse L'05
Frederick J.M. Price L'03
Kelli Provenzano Cain L'06
David M. Tang L'05
Michael P. Votto L'03
Krista Witanowski L'02


Michael Anthony Bottar L'03
James T. Dehn L'98
Maya M. Eckstein L.95
Seth Eichenholtz L'02
Susan R. Horn L'74
Cynthia Kearley L'01
Michael T. Maroney L'00
Carey Ng L'02


Dana Leccese Babbin L'96
Henry J. Ford, Jr. L'02
Zabrina Jenkins L'00
Stephanie Jones L'03
Barker C. Keith L'97
Tiffany H. Lee L'97
Joshua N. Lief L'88
Timothy M. Meehan L'96
Timothy Paul L'84
Gerard 'Rod' Saggese III L'99
MaryTeresa Soltis L'03
Ruchi Thaker L'02
Nathan Wheatley L'02


Stewart D. Aaron L'83
Robert J. Anello L'80
Eddie Baba L'03
Adam Leitman Bailey L'95
Scott Charney L'88
Alan Crain L'76
Andrew Dember L'79
Eric Eichenholtz '02
Virginia Grady L'83
Hon. William Q. Hayes L'83
Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82
Jaye B. Martin L'79
George R. McGuire L'96
Benita Miller L'96
Eileen Millett L'74
Matthew Moore L'95
Michael Riley L'03
John W. Ryan L'85
Howard Siegel L'70
Katie Strangis L'03
Ellen Zimiles L'83