Judge William Q. Hayes L'83
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Foursquare

Judge William Q. Hayes L'83

William HayesJUDGE WILLIAM Q. HAYES received his B.S. from Syracuse University in 1979. He was awarded his M.B.A from the Whitman School of Business and his J.D. from Syracuse University College of Law in 1983. Judge Hayes began his law career as an associate at Scheid and Horlbeck in Denver, Colorado and later practiced at Stone and Associates, also in Denver. Judge Hayes left Colorado to become an Assistant United States Attorney for the Southern District of California in 1987. He became the Chief of the Criminal Division and served in that role from 1999 to 2003. Judge Hayes was appointed a District Judge for the Southern District of California on October 6, 2003 and continues to serve in that capacity. He maintains his chambers in San Diego.
Judge Hayes has served as an adjunct law faculty member at National College, University of Colorado at Denver, Thomas Jefferson School of Law and the University of San Diego School Of Law. He has been a member of the Denver Bar Association, San Diego Bar Association, Rocky Mountain Business Law Association, and a Barrister of the Louis Welsh Inn of Court. He is currently a Master in the William Enright Inn of Court and a member of the Board of Governors of the Association of Business Trial Lawyers of San Diego.

Relevant Links:

Department of Justice, U.S. Attorneys’ Office
U.S. District Court, Southern District of California
San Diego County Bar Association
American Inns of Court
Association of Business Trial Lawyers

Alumni Spotlights


Frank Carbonetti L'99
Angela R. Cruz L'06
Aris Evia L'99
David J. Efron L'93
Catherine Gale L'78
Scott W. Hackwelder L'04
Kristoffer (Kris) Kiefer L'05
Mary C. King L'04
John J. Leo III L'03
Cheryl Pinarchick L'95
Kate M. Powers L'02
Kevin Saunders L'97
Janine A. Scott L'97
William Tansey L'03
Charles Taylor L'96


David W. Baker L'05
Jae H. Cho L'04
Lisa A. Coppola L'89
Danette Edwards L'02
Noah J. Garber L'08
Roy S. Gutterman L'00
Adam J. Katz L'04
Richard E. Mitchell L'95
Julie Morse L'05
Frederick J.M. Price L'03
Kelli Provenzano Cain L'06
David M. Tang L'05
Michael P. Votto L'03
Krista Witanowski L'02


Michael Anthony Bottar L'03
James T. Dehn L'98
Maya M. Eckstein L.95
Seth Eichenholtz L'02
Susan R. Horn L'74
Cynthia Kearley L'01
Michael T. Maroney L'00
Carey Ng L'02


Dana Leccese Babbin L'96
Henry J. Ford, Jr. L'02
Zabrina Jenkins L'00
Stephanie Jones L'03
Barker C. Keith L'97
Tiffany H. Lee L'97
Joshua N. Lief L'88
Timothy M. Meehan L'96
Timothy Paul L'84
Gerard 'Rod' Saggese III L'99
MaryTeresa Soltis L'03
Ruchi Thaker L'02
Nathan Wheatley L'02


Stewart D. Aaron L'83
Robert J. Anello L'80
Eddie Baba L'03
Adam Leitman Bailey L'95
Scott Charney L'88
Alan Crain L'76
Andrew Dember L'79
Eric Eichenholtz '02
Virginia Grady L'83
Hon. William Q. Hayes L'83
Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82
Jaye B. Martin L'79
George R. McGuire L'96
Benita Miller L'96
Eileen Millett L'74
Matthew Moore L'95
Michael Riley L'03
John W. Ryan L'85
Howard Siegel L'70
Katie Strangis L'03
Ellen Zimiles L'83